The Anti-safety mom? or just ‘normal’

A story getting a bit of press right now is the mom who lets her nine-year-old ride the subway in NYC alone. Is that reckless parenting? Or is it simply letting her kid be a kid and helping him to learn a little common sense and street smarts all at the same time? Isn’t experience the best teacher? How many things did we learn as kids by simply messing about either alone or with friends, without the “big mother” looking over our shoulder.

Now this daring mom has started a blog called Free Range Kids.

Here’s how it starts:

Do you ever..let your kid ride a bike to the library? Walk alone to school? Take a bus, solo? Or are you thinking about it? If so, you are raising a Free Range Kid! At Free Range, we believe in safe kids. We believe in helmets, car seats and safety belts. We do NOT believe that every time school age children go outside, they need a security detail. Most of us grew up Free Range and lived to tell the tale. Our kids deserve no less. This site dedicated to sane parenting. Share your stories, tell your tips and maybe one day I will try to collect them in a book. Meantime, let’s try to help our kids embrace life! (And maybe even clear the table.)

Couldn’t have said it better myself. <link>

One thought on “The Anti-safety mom? or just ‘normal’

  1. great blog!! I think each child is as individual as a snowflake. Some children need a little extra guidance. Some you would trust using a subway. Some you can’t trust alone for two minutes.

    My dad trusted me to stay at home when i was younger than 11 with my sister (1 1/2 years younger than me) from the time we got home until school until he came home from work.

    He also trusted me to take the City bus wherever I wanted during the summer when I was a teenager. Sometimes his judgement was better at times than others, but I definately believe in letting our children go a little every day.

    My son will always have opportunites to learn on his own. Im going to base it on his ability to make decisions, but I also think he will learn how to make decisions just from being able to.

    Glad I found your blog, and here’s to your continued contributions!!!

Leave a Reply

